review

REVIEW | Sarah’s scribbles | Sarah Andersen

SARAH’S SCRIBBLES COLLECTION | SARAH ANDERSEN | 2016-2018 |

★★★★.5

{ Are you a special snowflake? Do you enjoy networking to advance your career? Is adulthood an exciting new challenge for which you feel fully prepared? Ugh. Please go away. This book is for the rest of us. These comics document the wasting of entire beautiful weekends on the internet, the unbearable agony of holding hands on the street with a gorgeous guy, dreaming all day of getting home and back into pajamas, and wondering when, exactly, this adulthood thing begins. In other words, the horrors and awkwardnesses of young modern life. } { goodreads }

I read the first book in this comic collection last year and absolutely adored it. There’s a special kind of joy in recognizing yourself in a book. I feel like I could hand this book to another person and say: “look, this is me”. Moreover, I think this book might help other people understand me a bit better.

I was over the moon when I found out that my new scribd subscription gave me access to all three books so I sat down and read them one after another. I must say that the first book is definitely my favourite, but the other two books are very enjoyable and recognizable as well. The latter two books also offer some perspective into Sarah’s life and struggles which she documents through text and comics.

If you’ve become curious about these books you can check out many of Sarah’s comics on her website and various social media. I would definitely recommend them, because even if you’re not a struggling introvert, it may teach you something about the introverts in your life.

Leave a comment